I Voluntarily Quit My Job During the COVID Pandemic. Now What?

Photo by Romain V on Unsplash

Everyone must think I’m crazy abandoning my only source of income when there are so many uncertainties. Maybe even a little resentful that I had a choice to keep a job. Well, my peeps, I am pretty bold when it comes to ideas on how not to work traditional jobs. This may or may not have the best consequences, but it sure has been the best thing I’ve done for myself so far.

Without going into too much detail, I quit my job because I figured it would save both my employer and myself time, money, and sanity if I were to leave right away. Yes, there were deeper issues I faced. But the point is, I am so much happier now that I get to pursue what I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time: entrepreneurship, freelancing, and updating this old blog.

But what am I going to do about money? I still have bills to pay, and debt to resolve (thankfully, it’s decreased to a manageable amount).

Fear not, self! For I have a list of backup plans and actions to take.


Highest priorities first: File for Unemployment

Filing for unemployment
Photo by Scott Graham on Unsplash

The very first step I took was to apply for unemployment. This was a good time, actually, since the “Stay Home, Stay Safe” mandate doesn’t require me to search for traditional jobs until the mandate is over. I’m, of course, finding other ways to make money, so I’m not entirely depending on this. Who knows? Unemployment may cease to exist tomorrow with the financial state of the federal government.

The other good thing about applying for unemployment right now in my specific case is that my state government offers something called Self Employment Assistance Program (SEAP). This is a program that allows me to continue receiving unemployment benefits while also learning the ins and outs of running my own business. Of course, training is mandatory, but it’s a very good investment of my time for my needs. This also allows me to skip the step of validating my job searches every week as I’m receiving training.

Still, there’s another problem. I only have 4 months of regular unemployment benefits. Granted, that’s a pretty long time, but it still puts a bit of pressure on me with my slower strategy to earning a living.


Follow Thy Passion, And Money Shall Follow

Follow your passion
Even in the darkest of times, paddle on.
Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

At this point, I have unlimited possibilities and more time. Instead of wasting that time doing things like playing video games all day feeling sorry for myself, I’ve decided to place my effort into my passions to eventually monetize on them. No more “what ifs” and “buts”. It’s now do or die (maybe even literally haha).

One thing that I do recommend is actually researching the pros and cons of your passion and how feasible it is. Can it be turned into a stream of income? What are some things you need to invest in before it can make you money? Can you consistently keep doing it for a really long time? Research is king, but don’t fall into the trap of researching all the tips and tricks and not actually doing anything. I’ve been there for a good chunk of my life.

This is where connections are super important. Fortunately for me, I had a chance opportunity when I spoke to the right people who happened to be consultants for freelancing. The first meeting has been highly beneficial in validating good and bad paths of action, as well as future next steps. Deep diving into strategies is better done with others, and they helped me see things I wouldn’t have known by myself.

Of course, the decision is ultimately up to you. Others can help you along the way, saving you time from going down bad routes. But you don’t have to always follow what others say. Be creative!


Need faster money?

Fast money
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

Unfortunately, my specific strategy does not provide income right away. I’d suggest freelancing in the sense of working for others. But fast money in freelancing is also hard to come by depending on what your sellable skills are, and your portfolio. For instance, programming can be done while working remotely. Just be sure you have a specific niche in the otherwise saturated market.

In my opinion, the fastest way to earn money is to look for employment. It’s not what I want to do, but I may need to do it should all else fail. This time, though, I personally would do part time repetitive work to have a balance between that and my other goals. It’s best to do the job you least hate if all you’re there for is money.

There are remote working jobs online through your state’s unemployment job search tool. Another good idea is sending applications to physical places like grocery stores where it’s an actual public need. Maybe even delivery jobs such as DoorDash or USPS.

There must always be a backup to a backup.


Final Thoughts

Remember, this is my action plan. Your situation is unique, and in no way am I telling you to do anything. But if this helped you form your own ideas, then that makes me really happy! Good luck! You’ve got this!


Thanks for reading! If you’d like to support me, please check out my Support Me page. You can also find this post on Medium and give me a high five!

Leave a comment